“Ritter Out-Guns Strong Field for Friday Potomac Win”
“Alvey Collects Second in Street Stocks”
By Doug Watson
Budds Creek, MD- Stephens City Va.’s Brad Ritter, the defending Winchester (VA) speedway Limited Late Model track champion, was triumphant in last Friday nights 30-lap Potomac/Winchester Limited Late Model challenge event. Ritter, who was making his first Potomac start of the season, netted $1000 for his second-career Potomac speedway feature win.
Ryan Hackett and class rookie Jimmy Jesmer Jr. shared the front-row for the start of the event. As the pack raced off turn two, fourth-starting Brad Ritter split the cars of Jesmer and Hackett to take the top-spot as the mob raced down the backstretch. Ritter lead until Jesmer snared the race lead from Ritter on lap-9. As Jesmer lead, Ritter was in his tire tracks and would re-take the lead for good on the 16th-circuit. A lap-28 caution gave Jesmer and the rest of the field one last shot at Ritter, however, Ritter was not to be denied and would take the win by five car-lengths over Jesmer. “This sure will make the ride home not seem so long.” Ritter stated in Potomac’s victory lane. “I have to thank my car-owner Leo Nichols for the chance to drive his car.” Said Ritter. “He kind of took me out of retirement and gave me a shot, and I’m glad to be able to win for him and the whole team.” As the track started to take some rubber deep in the feature, Ritter had his hands full holding the top-spot. “Those cautions there at the end didn’t help.” Ritter bottom-lined. “My car was getting tight and I had to stab the brakes going into the corners to get the car to turn, but it all worked out, and here we are.” Derrick Quade finished third, Jonathon DeHaven was fourth with Dominic DeFino scoring his career-best Potomac effort taking fifth. Heats for the 28-cars entered went to Hackett, Jesmer and DeHaven with Michael Alderman winning the consolation.
Current Street Stock point leader Darren Alvey became the first repeat winner of the season with his win in the divisions 16-lap event. Alvey took the lead on lap-9 and had to fend-off the challenges of one-time class winner Barry Williams Sr. over the final 8-laps to preserve the win. Kyle Nelson came home third, Eric Johnson was fourth with Jimmy Randall placing fifth. Mike Latham was the heat winner.
Jamie Sutphin was victorious for the first time in his career as he was the winner of the 15-lap Hobby Stock main. Sutphin started second and would go on to lead the distance over eventual runner-up Brian Adkins. Point leader Matt Tarbox was third, John Burch was fourth with Greg Morgan rounding-out the top-five. Burch was the heat winner.
Continuing the list of new winners, Billy Hill also became a first-time Potomac winner with his win in the 12-lap U-Car feature. Ryan Clement lead the first 7-laps before Hill slid into the top-spot on lap-8. Hill would then lead the distance to post the break-through win. Clement held on for second, Speed Alton was third, Erica Bailey fourth with Megan Mann rounding out the top-five. Hill was the heat winner.
In the nightcap 20-lap strictly stock feature Ray Bucci wired the field for his first win of the new season. Bucci took the race lead from JJ Silvious on lap-2, and would then have to survive a late-race rush from eventual second place finisher Buddy Dunagan to post the win. John Hardesty was third, Silvious hung on for fourth with Larry Fuchs completing the top-five. Heats went to Dunagan and Nabil Guffey.

Limited Late Models

1. Brad Ritter, 2. Jimmy Jesmer Jr, 3. Derick Quade, 4. Jonathan Dehaven, 5. Dominic Defino, 6. Scott Adams, 7. Robbie Emory, 8. Tyler Emory, 9. Rodney Walls, 10. Bubby Tharp jr, 11. Richard Hawkins, 12. Walt Homberg, 13. Mike Bennett, 14. Keith Walls, 15. Jimmy Richards, 16. Kevin Deremer, 17. Ryan Hackett, 18. Micheal Alderman, 19. Jacob Burdett, 20. Mitch Miller, 21. Pat Wood, 22. Billy Farmer, 23. Dave Adams, 24. Kyle Lear, (DNS: James Carte, Andy Anderson, Walter Crouch, Race Alton)
Street Stocks:
1. Darren Alvey, 2. Barry Williams, 3. Kyle Nelson, 4. Eric Johnson, 5. Jimmy randall, 6. Troy Kassiris, 7. Jonathan Oliver, 8. Mike Raleigh, 9. Mike Latham, 10. Ed Pope Jr
1. James Sutphin, 2. Brian Adkins, 3. Matt Trabox, 4. John Burch, 5. Greg Morgan, 6. Matt Krickbaum, 7. Jerry Deason, 8. Tommy Randall, 9. Phil Lange, 10. Ken Sutphin (DQ: Jonathan Raley)
Strictly Stocks
1. Ray Bucci, 2. Buddy Dunagan. 3. John Hardesty, 4. J.J. Silvious, 5. Nabil Guffey, 6. Larry Fuchs, 7. Jimmy Suite, 8. Paul Jones, 9. Megan Emory, 10. Justin Meador, 11. John Hardesty, 12. Joseph Meador, 13. Ed Pope Sr, 14. Josh Blocker, 15. Joey Abott
1. Billy Hill, 2. Ryan Clements, 3. Speed Alton, 4. Erica Bailey, 5. Megan Mann, 6. Cory Swain, 7. Cori French, 8. D.J. Powell, 9. Sam Raley



3-30-13 4-12-13